In News

REVIEW: Fred und Luna, Im Klanggarten

Frank Wiedemann, co-founder of Innervisions and the visionary producer involved with leading electronic acts Âme, Howling and Schwarzmann, has started a new record label, Bigamo, to release quality undiscovered music that “wouldn’t fit on the Innervisions label”. The label’s debut offering is Im Klanggarten by Fred und Luna, the moniker of Karlsruhe-based musician, video artist, author and DJ Rainer Buchmüller.

Wiedemann describes Buchmüller - whose debut EP, Glück Auf (Optimo, 2016), went down very well with critics - as a “long-term hero, but for just as long unknown to the public.”  

This all stands to change with the release of Im Klanggarten, an intriguing collection of downtempo ambient tracks that blend ‘vintage’ Kraut sounds of the 1970s and 80s with atmospheric swells, curious rhythmic variations and bold compositional gestures.

Whether laying 80s-style synth stabs over a dark and tribal backbeat (“Die Tropfenkarawane”), using cascading, delayed melodies to create lush dreamscapes (“Die Frau Kommt”), or exploring the textures of more dancefloor-ready rhythms (“Du Gefällst Mir”), the album is an expertly-judged example of what Wiedemann calls electronic “listening music”.

With compelling repetitive rhythms through, and an incredible range of both old and new sounds to beguile the ear, Im Klanggarten is a fantastic debut from Fred und Luna and an exceptionally promising start to life for Bigamo Records.

Im Klanggarten is out as a double vinyl through Biagmo Records on Wednesday March 8th. Have a listen to the album’s first track - the slow-burning “Minisong” - below:

Full album tracklist:

A1 Minisong
A2 Zugluftzug
A3 Besuch

B1 Galakto
B2 Die Tropfenkarawane
B3 Du Gefällst Mir

C1 Komm, Wir Fahr'n Nach Wolperath
C2 Die Frau Kommt
C3 Morgenduft

D1 Angeln Ohne Schnur Ist Super
D2 So Gut Wie Nie
D3 Von Vorn

Read More

Share Tweet Pin It +1


In News

Watch A Trailer For Elektrak, The New Shobaleader One Album

Shobaleader One’s new album, Elektrac, will be out on March 10th through Warp Records, with fans latching onto a new trailer that features the band’s iconic lighting displays while teasing some atmospheric sounds from the upcoming, highly anticipated release.

The band is also about to tour throughout the UK and Europe in promotion of Elektrac, an album which features “live versions of 11 Squarepusher classics”, and which promises to be one of the biggest electronic releases of 2017.

Have a listen to Shobaleader One’s version of “Journey To Reedham”, an exuberant, energetic update of Squarepusher’s classic 1997 track.

Here is the full tracklist for Shobaleader One’s Elektrac, out on March 10th through Warp Records.

01. The Swifty
02. Coopers World
03. Don't Go Plastic
04. Iambic 5 Poetry
05. Squarepusher Theme
06. E8 Boogie
07. Deep Fried Pizza
08. Megazine
09. Delta-V
10. Anstromm Feck 4
11. Journey To Reedham

Read More

Share Tweet Pin It +1



We will keep you up to date with the freshest of the fresh music there is. New releases, interviews and newsarticles all around new wave music will give you industry insights and keep you in tune on a weekly basis. Contact us on Social Media!